According to their website,“Dipity is a free digital timeline website. Our mission is to organize the web’s content by date and time. Users can create, share, embed and collaborate on interactive, visually engaging timelines that integrate video, audio, images, text, links, social media, location and timestamps.” With my research in history, I like to use timelines as a way of visualising my data. An example from a previous Prezi shows the lengths I go to in creating a timeline:

ECE Timeline

For the ANZHES history conference in Melbourne this weekend, I think I might try a Dipity timeline instead – although I think it can’t be downloaded so without an internet connection it wouldn’t work (and at conferences, an internet connection on the presentation computer is not a guarantee). It appears that the power of the Dipity site is being able to draw events and media from the internet, so perhaps my century-long timeline will not make full use of Dipity’s potential – but then, neither do most of the Dipity timelines I have looked at. However, it still allows manual entry of events, and more and more archives making their material available digitally so that could make for more interesting timelines. I fully intend to try it out, but in the interim here are examples of Dipity timelines:

Dipity timeline

